About us

The Centre for Health Research and Innovation is based within the Lancashire Clinical Research Facility at Royal Preston Hospital. However we work across both the Preston and Chorley sites as well as a number of community and satellite units.

The team consists of a core Research & Innovation administrative team who support a multi-disciplinary team, consisting of clinical trial support officers and adminstrators who work across five clinical themes.

R & I Team:

Director of Research and Innovation

Professor Pierre Martin-Hirsch, Pierre.Martin-Hirsch@lthtr.nhs.uk 

Deputy Director of Research and Innovation

Dr Anthony Rowbottom, Anthony.Rowbottom@lthtr.nhs.uk 

Head of Research & Innovation

Paul Brown, Paul.Brown@LTHTR.nhs.uk  

Research Operations Manager

Kina Bennett, Kina.Bennett@lthtr.nhs.uk

Research Finance Analyst

Matthew Johns, Matthew.Johns@lthtr.nhs.uk

Senior Research Nurse and Industry Lead 

Nina Vekaria, Nina.Vekaria@lthtr.nhs.uk

Research Secretary

Jane Silverwood, Jane.Silverwood@LTHTR.nhs.uk

The core Research & Innovation team oversee the Research Governance, Performance, Quality and Finance associated with our research studies.  They provide advice and support to researchers on the processes for study set-up and gaining NHS permission, with guidance on 'clean housekeeping' to ensure a trial is conducted, recorded, and reported properly.  They also collate and report the Centre for Health Research and Innovation's data on recruitment. The team has links to universities and can support the development of collaborations, costing of research funding applications, and ensuring the correct Quality Systems are in place to safely conduct clinical trials.

Research Access Team

Research.Access@LTHTR.nhs.uk

The Research Access Project Managers support the clinical and research teams through the feasibility and set up process, controlling timelines, liaising externally with Sponsors, trial offices, and internally with principal investigators, research nurses, clinical teams, and support services. Study teams are provided with a dedicated contact point to enable studies to be opened in a robust and efficient manner.